Closed Thread
Old 9-03-2011, 17:42
Australia
3,183 Posts
Steam Profile
Administrator
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ask A Question Forum
Hi, I am new to demoman (but experienced in comp tf2), and have to learn to play the class from scratch for this season of OWL. I've been watching demo's of other teams and myself to see how they play, but from recent scrims there are questions that I would like answered by people with a bit of experience as demoman.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ask A Question Forum

At middle what players should i focus on damaging?
I find that there are two ways to play middle, focusing on hitting the enemy scouts, which allows your scouts to get into a more commanding position. The negative of this is that the enemy demoman gets free reign and is able to use health advantage to push your heavies out easily, and you as well. Also scouts are much quicker to heal up than heavies.

Focusing the enemy demoman results in me getting focussed hard by enemy scouts as well, so I’m not sure if there’s a correct way to play middle, but from watching other players I assume that pressuring the enemy demoman is the best way to play.

Is there any specific way to aim pipes.
I find that i struggle ridiculously hard with hitting pipes because i aim entirely with precise tracking and muscle memory flicks using movement to compensate my aim. So how do other demoman go about hitting pipes? I've been told that flicking aimlessly is the main way to do it, but that seems so wrong and counter intuitive.

As far as rollout goes, should i be focussing on getting to middle faster than the enemy demoman, getting to mid on really high hp, or trying to get a balance of both?